Oh Happy Day

 

P1080111.JPG

Hello and Welcome

I was thrilled to be invited as Guest Designer for CASology this week! Their cue card for the week is  EARTH!  It will be very exciting to see how you interpret this cue!

Week 335 - Earth It took me a while to decide how interpret the cue, EARTH, on a CAS card.

My first thought was ‘earth’ as in soil – which has such a vital role in supporting life on Earth!

I started with the largest Quadrangle Frame die cut from SSS Stamps, using the black frame and a white inner section.

On the inner piece, I stamped  a couple of small floral images from Hero Arts January Monthly Kit for 2019. Using Distress Ink, I water coloured them, along with the sky and the soil (earth) around the plants.

I also selected the watering can image from the same Hero Arts set, and a flower pot from an old Hero Arts wood block stamp which were water coloured and fussy cut.

The frame was then added to the card front, and then the watering can and the flower pot were stepped down from the end of the frame.

I put a light wash of colour at the bottom of these, to ground them.

The strip sentiment is from Mama Elephant – Occasional Labels set.

After looking at the card for a while, I felt it needed something to stop the eye running off the card front, so I added a thin black strip towards the bottom.

I was pleased with the way it turned out.  I hope you like it too.

I hope you will visit the CASology blog and check out more inspiration from the amazing Design Team.

Thanks so much for visiting

Have a great week

Helen

Challenges:

Uniko Challenge #52 – Spring with Optional Twist Easter

Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #332 – Make Your Mark

Die Cut Divas Challenge – Anything Goes”. 

 

         The Diva's that cut ....paper!

 

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

21 thoughts on “Oh Happy Day”

  1. I absolutely love the way you layered the elements in this design, Helen! It’s great having you guest design this week with us at CASology!

    Like

  2. This is a wonderful card for our challenge. I love the little scene you have set. Thanks so much for being our Guest Designer this week at CASology.

    Like

  3. I’m totally in love with your card, Helen ! What a lovely spring scene and so beautifully laid out ! Those SSS die cut frames are fabulous and your watercoloring is amazing. Such a beautiful CAS card ! Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along at Uniko.

    Like

  4. Echoing the others: your Spring card, featuring flowers and a watering can, is beautiful! Thrilled to see your creativity in the Uniko gallery!
    ~carol

    Like

  5. Stunning CAS card. Congrats on your Guest DT spot too. Beautiful layering of elements and little spring scene. Thanks so much for joining in on the fun at Uniko. Hugs Bev x

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging