WWC176 – Kath’s “All About Christmas” Challenge

P1070516

Here we are with the latest “All About Christmas” Challenge over at Watercooler Wednesday blog, with Kath as our lovely hostess.

No automatic alt text available.

 

My card was inspired by this wonderful card by the talented Heather Hoffman, a Design Team member for Winnie & Walter.  I loved this card as soon as I saw it.  It has such a soft and  calming feel to it.


For my card, I started by using Distress Ink blending on a piece of cardstock (Weathered Wood and Iced Spruce), darker towards the bottom.  It was then sprayed with Glimmer Mist and then some water. White paint was then flicked over the top.

Taylored Expressions – Birch Tree Cutting plate was used as the focal point.   After cutting 4, the top one has some grey ink added in patches along with some white paint flicks and some Glimmer Mist.

A fawn from a cheap stamp set, by Creative Pl from Aldi, was stamped in DI and then watercoloured and fussy cut.

After stacking the die cuts, the fawn was slotted between the trees and the whole die added to the front panel.  Some raised tape was added to the front of the fawn to make it seem to be coming through the trees.

P1070518

The panel was added to the card front the trimmed.

The sentiment is from Winnie & Walter – The Big, The Bold and Greetings stamp set.  After stamping in black ink, it was fussy cut and added to the card front.

I was really pleased with the way it turned out.  It has a soft shimmer which is difficult to see in the photos.  I hope you like it too.

Don’t forget to check out the wonderful work by the other members of our Design Team over at our blog.

Have a great day

Helen

Challenges:

Winnie & Walter – Rerun No. 31 | Scenery: Into the Woods Challenge

Happy Little Stampers – June Christmas Challenge

Addicted to  Stamps and More Challenge #298 – Holiday

Rudolph Christmas Challenge

Christmas Craft All Year Round  June Challenge – Non- Traditional Christmas / Holiday Colors

HLS June Watercolour Challenge

The Cat’s Pyjamas – Tuesday Challenge – #347 – Outdoors

Die Cut Divas – June Challenge – Animals or pets

 

w&w_rerun_logo               The Diva's that cut ....paper!
Christmas Crafts All Year 'Round       

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

20 thoughts on “WWC176 – Kath’s “All About Christmas” Challenge”

  1. Hi Helen,
    Happy Rudolf Days.
    Your card is so lovely and I love the deer peeking from the trees.
    Such a super design.
    You linked last months card to the challenge, but luckily I spotted it.
    Thank you for joining the Rudolf Challenge.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. DT

    Like

  2. What a fabulous card here Helen. Super scene with that true to life coloured deer popping his head around the trees. I am sooooooo far behind with my Christmas cards this year. I guess I will panic later in the year.

    Like

  3. You should be very pleased with this card. It’s a knockout. The dear is perfect from the colors to the 3D effect. So glad you joined us at Die Cut Divas.

    Like

  4. Wow, Helen! Another gorgeous creation! I love the way you’ve created that unique background paper. It sets off the die-cuts beautifully. Love the way you have the deer peeking through the trees below the sentiment. Beautiful work!

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging