Birthday Love (HLS – Watercolour Challenge)

Hello again

Welcome to a new challenge at HLS Watercolour Challenge for May 2023. As always it’s Anything Goes with the option this month of FLOWERS. Just be sure it features watercolour. So easy to join in!

My card is an oldie I haven’t shared. It features very old wood block stamps I have always loved, but sadly had to throw out as the rubber had perished and broken. I was so sad. 😦

I have been trying very hard to find another Hydrangea stamp to replace it – the right shape, not too big, not too small, so very difficult to find. Keep watching to see what I find. 🙂

My flowers are watercoloured using Distress inks and Tombow markers.

Please head over to our blog and check out the wonderfully inspirational work by the rest of the Design Team!  I hope you will find the time to join our challenge this month.

I look forward to seeing what you create!  Good luck!

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit.  I love to read your comments.

Stay safe

Cheers

Helen

Challenges:

SSS Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes

Make My Monday Challenge – #199 Flowers

Cupcake Inspiration Challenge – Mother’s Day/For Someone Special Feminine

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

8 thoughts on “Birthday Love (HLS – Watercolour Challenge)”

  1. Beautiful Birthday Card! I love this all in purple. Thank you for playing along with us at Cupcake Inspiration Challenges. We hope you will come and play again with us soon!
    Sandy, DT Coordinator

    Like

  2. This is so pretty!! I LOVE the watercolor and the purple/blue colors are gorgeous!! Thank you for joining us this round at Cupcake Inspirations Challenges!!

    Nora
    CIC DT

    Like

      1. Hi MarilynI hope you everything is going well.  I did answer your comments earlier in the week, but I’m not sure it went through, so here I am again.

        My hydrangeas are stamped once on card and watercoloured using Tombow markers and Distress inks.  I use these for most of my watercololuring.

        I love the image  that was a very old wood block stamp which sadly had deteriorated when I went to use it a little while ago.  It ws used over and over as I love the size and shape, which made is perfect for single image as on this card or with masking to create a large set of heads.  I almost cried when I had to throw it out.

        Since then I have been looking for a replacement, but I haven’t been happy with what I’ve found.  Many are too rounded in shape or the wrong size.  CC is gorgeous but very large.  i’m thnking of the digi imag but I can on.y print it suitable for pencil.  Not quite how I like to work them.

        I did finid a set from Heartfelt crerations – Cottage Garden Hydrangea which I’m hoping will work.  I haven’t used it yet so keep an eye put and you might see it soon.  

        If you want to see other cards using this stamp I’ll include a link to my blog.  https://momentsofcrafting.wordpress.com/2019/08/07/wwc233-karens-feminine-anything-goes-challenge/

        https://momentsofcrafting.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/hydrangeas/

        I hope this answers your question.  If you want to know anything else please don’t hesitate to ask.  

        I guess from your email that you are an Aussie.  Where are you living?  I’m in Qld.

        Have a good day

        Cheers Helen  🙂  Thanks again for taking the time to comment on my blog post.  It means a lot to me.  🙂

        Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging