Blue Starry Flowers Birthday

P1070548Welcome to the August Watercolour Challenge at Happy Little Stampers. Each month we have a fun twist for you to use if you wish or it can just be a free anything goes watercolour.  This month the twist is ‘flowers’.

I had an idea for this new Altnew ‘Starry Flowers’ stamp set.  I fell in love with it when I first saw it!

To begin, I white heat embossed the large flower image on watercolour paper.  Then I used Kuretake Gansai Tambi watercolours to build up the blue colour at the top of the image washing it lightly down towards the bottom. The flowers were then picked out with washes and brush strokes. Centres and splatters used the gold in the set.

To finish, the sentiment from SSS ‘Big Scripty Greetings’ was heat embossed with Ranger gold embossing powder.

There are lots of great inspiration from our wonderful design team over on our blog. I hope you will find the time to join our challenge this month.

Our winner for this challenge will receive a $20 coupon to spend at the shop! Check out all the details HERE.
Thanks so much for visiting
Cheers
Helen
Challenges:
 

 

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

14 thoughts on “Blue Starry Flowers Birthday”

  1. Oh WOW! what a stunning result you achieved here Helen. The wash effect is amazing and so striking in the blue tones. Love how you have that white at the bottom to add your beautiful bold gold sentiment. A fabulous water colour card.

    Like

  2. I recently played with these flowers from Altenew, but I must admit that your card is the winners. This amazing dramatic background fits perfectly with these delicate flowers. Stunning card!
    Hugs,
    BożenA

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging