WWC230 – Kath’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

P1080087

Hello and welcome

This week I’m back with the latest challenge over at at Watercooler Wednesday, Kath’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge.

I hope you can find the time to join in.

Image may contain: text

I’m back to share a 2nd birthday card I made recently.  I decided I wanted an interactive card, so I revisited Jennifer McGuire’s video on making a Shadow Box Card. It was great fun to play with so many different elements and bring it all together.  I was so happy when it turned out to be the ‘fun’ card I had wanted!

To begin I had to create the shadow box.  So easy when you follow the instructions. I chose to cut the window using a scalloped rectangle from Spellbinders Nestabilities. (One of my first die sets!)

P1080095

 

P1080096

 

 

 

 

 

 

To create the back panel for my window, I used some very basic ink blending, added a few splatters for interest and then stamped random leaf images along the bottom using a mix of green Memento inks. (The leaves were from little cheap stamp sets).

This panel was then added to the back section and the box construction was completed.

I had also stamped, watercoloured and fussy cut the images from MFT Jungle Gym stamp set.  As I wanted some movement in my card, I cut the tiger away form the main image.

Because the branch was quite thin, I added extra plain card strips to the back for added strength, before tying some green thread around the tiger and attaching it to the branch to form a swing! (Just check it is the right length so it will swing!)

P1080098

The branch was then glued across the top section of the opening.

To make it feel a bit more like a jungle, I cut several leaves from MFT Leaf dies and watercoloured them, before they were added randomly around and just inside the window.

This is the view when you open the card.  P1080090

Now it was time finish the card front.  To begin I die cut SSS Stitched Whirl Background on a panel to be added to the front along with a small scalloped rectangle (to match the inside).  This had been watercoloured to  look like the sky and grass and stamped with small grass images from AI  Foliage Set – 4051, and had the monkey on the slide image added.

To complete the front, I cut Echo Park Happy Birthday Banner Die from DP along with a ‘2’ from MFT Die-namics numbers die set.

Sorry this has been such a long post, but I hope this card brings you a smile and that you will try one of these interactive cards.  I know I will but maybe a little simpler than this one!

Don’t forget to head over to our blog to check out the wonderful inspiration from the rest of our Design Team.

I look forward to seeing what you create this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit.  I love to read your comments.

Have a great day!

Cheers

Helen

Challenges:

MFT – The Birthday Project Challenge – Peek-a-Boo Surprise

 Celebrate Ai’s Birthday Month! PLUS Challenge 260 Birthday Cards!

SSS Wednesday Challenge – Add a Number

SSS Monday Challenge – Animal Magic

Time Out Challenge #139 – Inspired by Words 

Dies R Us Challenge #125 – Birthday

Die Cut Divas July Challenge – Anything Goes

               Our StoreThe Diva's that cut ....paper!

 

 

   

 

 

 

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

14 thoughts on “WWC230 – Kath’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge”

  1. Such a fun birthday card. Thanks for sharing it with us at Double D Challenge Blog. We hope you will join us for future challenges.
    Kathy
    DD DT

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging