Congratulations (HLS – Dies)

I would like to send a huge thank you to everyone over at Dies R Us Challenge for selecting my card in their Top 3!!! I am thrilled!! Be sure to check out their challenges!

Top Three Badge

Hello and welcome

We’re back with the new challenge over at Happy Little Stampers –  Anything Goes with Dies- June .   As always, anything goes in this challenge. So, I hope you’ll find time in  your busy life to join in the fun this month!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 8ff64-hls2bag2bbadge.png

I was asked to make an Engagement card, so I decided to use one of my favourite dies. Memory Box – Butterfly Hearts.

I started by making the colour band down the side of the front panel using Cosmic Shimmer Pixie Powder – Midnight Blue. After sprinkling a little powder along the side of the panel, I sprayed with water and tipped it to allow it to drip across slightly. I then used a brush to smooth out the colour and ensure a full cover of colour, but left the unever edges so it still had the fluid look.

I love the way playing with these powders turn out. You can never truly predict how it will look when its dry. A favourite thing to use!

Another smaller panel was made as well.

Once the panels were dry, the front panel was die cut with the Memory Box die ensuring the edge starts in the blue section. A piece of silver card was added behind the butterflies.

On the second panel, the die is cut again along with a run of small butterflies from Memory Box – Butterfly Delights and the Congratulations sentiment.

Now came the fun part! 🙂

Each butterfly from the second panel was removed and glued on top of the butterflies on the front panel. Each butterfly had its wings folded up so some of the silver would show though.

Some of the smaller butterflies were added to the panel to look as though they are flying up to form the butterfly. Some were a little lighter from the edges of the colured panel.

A small line of silver Gelly Roll was added for the body of each butterfly.

The sentiment was layered up with 4 layers of white card before being added to the card front.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is img_2437-2.jpg

It really came together fairly quickly and I was thrilled with the way it turned out. Love all the shimmer and shime!!

Time to head over to our blog to check out the great work by the rest of the Design Team!

I look forward to seeing what you create this month!

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit.  I love to read your comments.

Have a good day, stay safe and wishing you a very Happy New Year!

Cheers

Helen

Challenges:

Memory Box Challenge #73- Feeling Blue

DRU Challenge #170

Time Out Challenge #189

Less is More Challenge #444 – Lucky Dip – Your Favourite Technique

Stamping Sensations Card Challenge – June – ‘I love….’

Uniko Challenge Reminder #65 – Anything Goes + optional twist Use Die Cuts

Modsquad Challenge – Simple Focus

Monthlythemebadge
Grab our Badge!
Please grab our logo
ModSquad Challenge

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

24 thoughts on “Congratulations (HLS – Dies)”

  1. WOW ! This is so beautiful, Helen ! Those pixie powders look really gorgeous. Are they powders like Brushos but with a shimmery look ? Love how it turns out. And what a great idea to add mirror paper under. Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along at Uniko and Less is More.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your lovely comments Izzy! Yes, it is a powder like Brushos but with wonderful shimmer ! So they make the best backgrounds and techniqes!! I’m so pleased you liked it!! I was so pleased with the way it turned out!! Stay safe! 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s a totally delightful creation with the kaleidoscope of Butterflies Helene, but we are a stamping challenge at Stamping Sensations!!

    B x

    Like

  3. This is absolutely stunning. I can only imagine how time consuming it must have been, but it was so worth it. I am blown away!! Great take on the challenge, thanks so much for playing along with us over at The Mod Squad. Hope we see you back again soon.
    Judy~MSC DT

    Like

    1. Your very kind comments have certainly made my day Judy. I must admit, it wasn’t a quick card, but it didn’t take too long. As you say, certainly worth it!! Thanks so much. Stay safe. 🙂

      Like

  4. How lovely are those butterflies within the heart shape!! A beautiful blue color, too!! Thanks so much for joining us at Dies R Us for the challenge!!

    Like

  5. Very pretty – I love the peek of silver from underneath the butterflies. Thanks so much for playing along with us at TIME OUT!

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging