WWC328 – Tristan’s Challenge: All About Occasions

I would like to thank Debbie and all the team over at Newton’s Nook – Inky Paws Challlenge for selecting my card as her vafourite! I really appreciated her kind and supportive comments.

Debbie’s FAVE

Helen F. shows off her amazing water coloring skills behind the snoozing critters from the Porch Swing Friends stamp set. She continues the plaid from the background by paper-piecing the blanket on the swing!  A brilliant idea!

Hello and welcome

Today I’m back with a new challenge over at Watercooler Wednesday. Tristan is host for this fortnight’s Watercooler Wednesday Challenge: All About Occasions.

May be an image of text that says "SIONS Everything We Celebrate! Christmas, Easter, New Year's, Valentine's, St. .Patrick's Easter, Mother's Day, Father's Day, Canada Day, Fourth of July, Hallowe'en, Birthdays, Birth, Wedding, Anniversary, Thanks, Sympathy, Congrats And so many more occasions WWC328 Tristan's Challenge: All About Occasions"

My card features this lovely image from Newton’s Nook – Porch Swing Friends! I fell in love with this stamp as soon as I saw it!!

I started by stamping the image and copic colouring. For fun I also did some paper piecing for the throw and cushions. This also gave me the opportunity to give my card some added dimension with all the smaller elements layered up!

As I felt it needed a background, I decided mine was on the edge of a garden. So I again used copics to create some trees, shrubs and flowers and MFT – Small Brick Wall Stencil for a partial brick wall.

Finally, I added some AI – Foliage stamps, using Distress Ink, for some added details for the garden.

The panel was added to some brown card then to the card front covered in DP using fun foam.

The sentiment is from the same set.

Don’t forget to head over to our blog to check out the wonderful inspiration from the rest of our Design Team.

I look forward to seeing what you create this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit.  I love to read your comments.

Stay safe in these difficult times and have a good day

Cheers

Helen

Challenges:

Newton’s Nook Challenge – Create a project using Cozy Plaid!

Allsorts Challenge – Week 648 🖋 Add a Sentiment

Time Out Challenge #199 – Down to Earth

Passion for Markers Challenge – 3 or more papers

Grab our logo
Passion for Markers

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

34 thoughts on “WWC328 – Tristan’s Challenge: All About Occasions”

  1. This is so pretty. I really love how you colored your scene, and also around your scene. I think I have this stamp, and barely recognized it. Such a fabulous job. Thanks so much for playing along at Time Out. Also…Congrats on your win at our last challenge, #198. Please contact me per the instructions on our website, so I can help you claim your prize.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your very kind and supportive comments Joyce!! I loved this stamp too and thanks again for selecting my card as winner of the last challenge. I did email you but maybe it got lost. I will send it again now. Thanks for the heads up on it not arriving. Stay safe! Love your challenges!!! 🙂

      Like

  2. This is fab Helen, I adore all the techniques you used to create such a warm and cozy feel to your card. Fab background and super colouring-thanks for visiting my blog-appreciate it so much xx

    Like

    1. You are so very kind Sandie!! I really appreciate all your support since we first “met”! Your comments are always so thoughtful. I love to keep up with your wonderful creations. You really have the knack for CAS cards. Something I don’t always find easy!! 🙂 My brain goes crazy and off I go creating some enormous production!! Ha! Ha! Please take care of youself. Lots of hugs xx

      Like

  3. This is so cute! Love that sweet image and you paired it so nicely with the patterns. Thanks for playing at Time Out!
    – Shauna

    Like

  4. Such a cute card! I love the way you colored the image. I would have never thought to use such colors together. Very lovely.
    Thanks for linking to the Inky Paw’s Challenge.

    Like

  5. Such a sweet card, Helen! Fabulous colouring of that cute image and the coordinating paper piecing with plaid cushion ties it together brilliantly…
    Thanks for playing along with us at Passion for Markers this week! Lisa x

    Like

  6. Love how you paper pieced the blanket with the plaid paper! Fabulously done! I, too, love this fun image. So happy you were inspired to join our Plain challenge at Inky Paws!
    Hugs,
    Debbie

    Like

  7. What a sweet card Helen. The image is lovely and your colouring is perfect. What a great way to incorporate different papers by paper piecing the cushions. Thanks for sharing with us at Passion for Markers this week. Hugs, Denise x

    Like

  8. What an adorable friendship card Helen! I love the background you gave your pets on the swing seat and I especially love the paperpieced blanket that matches the border. Vicky x

    Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging