Thanks (Time Out GD)

I am honoured to have my card selected as a Top Pick in the recent Flower Challenge. Thanks so much to everyone over at the blog. Here are the kind and supportive comments.

Great card with the clever black and white leaves on the background,and such a pretty flower here too.

Hello and welcome

I’m excited and honoured to be invited as a Guest Designer for Time Out Challenge # 201.

The challenge is to create cards inspired by the words:“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication “ by Leonardo Da Vinci. You can be inspired by any part of the quote.

Sponsoring this challenge is the incredible and very generous CAS-ual Fridays Stamps! You could win a $25 voucher to their amazing store. Our design team will also vote for another winner who gets to join them as guest designer in a future challenge. 

I love this quote which made me think of the simple beauty of nature. For this reason I selcted the simple but striking images in Altnew – Tropical Jungle stamp set.

After stamping the tall image in black ink, it was watercoloured with Distress Inks and fussy cut.

The slimline card front was stamped with the longer leaf image in black ink. This was then overlayed with a strip of vellum to soften the look of the stamping.

After adding the coloured image, the simple white heat embossed ‘Thanks’ from the set was added to the bottom with raised tape.

I feel this simple card design has an element of sophistication with this spike of vibrant coloured blooms. I hope you agree.

Be sure to check out the wonderful inspiration from the very talented Design Team over at Time Out.

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit.  I love to read your comments.

Have a good day, stay safe and wishing you a very Happy New Year!

Cheers

Helen

The Flower Challenge #62

SSS Wednesday Challenge – Make Your Own Background

PIP Challenge 2146

Allsorts Challenge – Week 651 💅🏻 One for the Girls

Sisterhood of Crafters Challenge – Give THANKS

Grab Our Badge
Allsorts challenge blog
Please Grab Our Badge!

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

24 thoughts on “Thanks (Time Out GD)”

  1. Your card is absolutely gorgeous, Helen. What a genius idea it was to place the vellum over the black inking to soften the look. That tropical flower is so gorgeous and your coloring makes it come alive. Thank you so very much for Guest Designing with us. It’s a joy to have you.

    Like

  2. Such effective stamping and the use of bold colours really makes the focal element pop, many thanks for joining in with our ‘One for the Girls’ theme at Allsorts challenge this week.

    B x

    Like

  3. Hi again Helen, I only realised when one of my DT’s mentioned it that this is another backdated entry, our challenge started on 20th so afraid lovely as it is your card is ineligible.

    B x

    Like

  4. What a stunning CAS card! I love how you’ve stamped the background and softened it with vellum. The coloring on your florals is perfect. So glad you linked up to TSOC challenge. Best of luck to you~

    Like

  5. Ohhh my goodness Helen, I totally love this creation. The layers and the colouring superb. Thank you so much for joining us at The Flower Challenge and we hope to see you there again soon. Aileen DesignTeam

    Like

  6. This is gorgeous Helen and congrats on GD, love the way you used the vellum here and super watercolouring and wow you are so good at fussy cuttin!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Sandie! I was honoured to be invited as a GD. I just love TO challenges and the fun topics really give a challenge. I really appreciate your kindness and wonderful support. I hope you are looking after yourself. Take care! Have a wonderful Christmas and here’s hoping 2022 is a good one for everyone. 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging