WWC203 – Karen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

 

p1070439 (2)

Hello and welcome

Hopefully all is returning to normal after the holidays and you’re ready for this week’s challenge over at  Watercooler Wednesday!  Karen is hosting our  “All About Occasions” Challenge.

Image may contain: text My card is one I made to celebrate a friend’s new house.

I had great fun playing with this great technique I found on Jennifer McGuire’s blog. While not really new, it was new for me.

The technique involves heat embossing and watercolour lifting.  I  changed it up a bit and used Distress inks to ink up the background of a piece of card.

The next step is to stamp and clear heat emboss  a background stamp ( Hero Arts – Leafy Vines Cling) over the inked background.

Now the fun begins!  You  need to lightly wash over the card with water and remove some of the colour from the background.  The colour under the leaves remains bright and glossy as the background fades!

p1070444

After cutting a section from the card using MFT Die-namics – Homespun Stitch Lines die, it was adhered it to the card front.

After stamping, Distress water colouring and fussy cutting a bird from MFT – Tweet On You,  was added to the top of the sentiment strip ( MFT Homespun Birdhouse Die-namics) with Wink of Stella added.

The last thing was to add die cut birdhouses (Inticutz Secret Garden Collection – 3 letterboxes) covered in Wink of Stella.

Sorry you have had to work through this rather long post.  I hope you can join our challenge this week.  Don’t forget to visit our blog for lots of great inspiration!

Thanks so much for visiting

Have a great week

Cheers

Helen

Challenges:

Simon Says Stamps Wednesday Challenge – Something New

 

Author: momentsofcrafting

I live in sunny Queensland, Australia with my husband and daughter. Since I was a child, I have always loved to create and have enjoyed all kinds of crafts, sewing and painting. China painting helped develop my understanding of colour and design. Over the last few years card making has taken up a major part of my crafting time as I love to play with new techniques and mediums. Since beginning my blog, entering various challenges has encouraged me to grow my skills and creativity.

2 thoughts on “WWC203 – Karen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge”

Leave a comment

Caly Person

Create & Inspire

Deborah's Crafty Blog

Sharing my crafting journey in the world of handmade cards - now a Design Team member for ClarityCrafts

My Papercraft World

food for a crafting soul

JGaultier

Papercraft by Jaycee Gaspar

The Ton Challenge Blog

Show off your couture creations on our monthly challenge blog!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging